Open vision bar

Creekland MS Student Repeats Feat as County's Top Speller

Posted On: Thursday, January 13, 2022

Bee winners

From left, second place winner Miller Inthirathvongsy of Clark Creek ES STEM Academy; Huck Wallace, first place, Creekland MS; and third place winner Isabella Melo-Moreira of Arnold Mill ES.

Note:  A gallery of photos from the Spelling Bee, including photos of each school winner, is online here.

Creekland Middle School eighth-grader Huck Wallace correctly spelled “reggae” and then “resplendence” to claim the title as the county’s top speller for the second year in a row at the 2022 Cherokee County School District Spelling Bee Wednesday night at Cherokee High School.  Miller Inthirathvongsy of Clark Creek ES STEM Academy (fourth grade) captured second, and Isabella Melo-Moreira of Arnold Mill ES (fifth grade) placed third.

Thirty Cherokee County students put their spelling skills to the test in the annual competition, which went 9 rounds over 90 minutes before a winner was decided. Spellers tackled  tricky terms like "smellfungus," "dyspeptic" and "abracadabra."

 All three students will advance to the regional Georgia Association of Educators (GAE) bee, which will be held at Etowah HS February 26. State winners (March 18 competition) advance to the Scripps National Spelling Bee held in Washington, DC in June.

The county spelling bee is sponsored each year by Cherokee County Association of Educators and the Georgia Association of Educators. Bekki Couch is the GAE Spelling Bee Coordinator; John Carter of Teasley MS served as caller of the words.  Judges included Tiffany Robbins, Bekki Couch and Jennifer Campbell.  

School level winners were:

Arnold Mill Elementary Isabella Melo-Moreira

Avery Elementary

Blaire Waddington

Ball Ground STEM Academy

Charlotte Murry

Bascomb Elementary

Annalise Boyadzhyan

Boston Elementary

Quenton Winkler

Carmel Elementary

Nathan Miller

Clark Creek STEM Academy

Miller Inthirathvongsy

Clayton Elementary

Nora Leigh Stansell

Creekland Middle

Huck Wallace

Dean Rusk Middle

Yasmeen Gheith

Digital Elementary  Aiden "AJ" Gonzalez

E.T. Booth Middle

Pradyumna Vasishta

Free Home Elementary

Elizabeth Gormly

Freedom Middle

Reece Aranzado

Hasty Fine Arts Academy

Caleb Birtwhistle

Hickory Flat Elementary

Grayson Swenson

Holly Springs STEM Academy

Gracelyn Chettiar

Indian Knoll Elementary

Mason Denney-Godfrey

Johnston Elementary

Micah Kampman

Knox STEM Academy

Vance Walden

Liberty Elementary

Matteo Poole

Little River Elementary

Alex Ward

Macedonia Elementary

Molly Thompson

Mill Creek Middle

Joli Palmquist

Mountain Road Elementary

Evelyn Higginbotham

Oak Grove STEAM Academy

Tara Fowler

R.M. Moore STEM Academy

Ansley Roper

Sixes Elementary

Emma Keith

Teasley Middle

Cole Mizelle

Woodstock Elementary

Youssef Ghaly Guirguis

Woodstock Middle

Parker Bunn

Back to School News      Print News Article