Open vision bar

CCSD School Wins Prestigious Georgia School Bell Award!

Posted On: Monday, July 22, 2019

 clark creek school bell award 7 22 19

The Cherokee County School District is celebrating Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy earning the prestigious School Bell Award!

The Georgia Association of Elementary School Principals presents the distinguished Award to 10 schools in Georgia each year in recognition of outstanding curriculum and organizational leadership initiatives… this is the eighth time in the last decade that a CCSD school has been honored.

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, led by Principal Joey Moss, earned the award for the program, “Creating a STEM Culture.”  Honored initiatives must demonstrate strong involvement of staff, students, parents and community and show positive results.  

“The phenomenal positive culture at Clark Creek is a big reason why its STEM program has earned international accreditation and recognition, and Principal Moss and her staff deserve high praise for their successes,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower.  “The staff, parents and partners are ‘all in’ for the students.  Together, they’ve created a model STEM school that encourages community engagement and business partnerships that create real-world learning experiences for students.” 

Clark Creek this spring became the first school in CCSD -- and only the 183rd in the world -- to earn STEM certification from AdvancED, the international accreditation agency for educational institutions.  

Since opening as one of CCSD’s award-winning STEM Academies in 2012, Clark Creek has earned State STEM Certification (at the time, only the 11th elementary school in Georgia to do so), Georgia STEM Education Award honors from The Technology Association of Georgia, and the Program Excellence Award presented by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association.  It also is one of only 138 schools in the world named Microsoft Showcase Schools for effective instructional technology use.   

The school will be formally recognized and presented with the Award at the Association’s Fall Principals’ Conference, and they will be recognized by the Cherokee County Superintendent of Schools and School Board at the School Board Meeting on Thursday, Aug. 15.

Recent past CCSD winners are: 2017, Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy; 2016, Bascomb ES; 2015, Holly Springs ES STEM Academy and Woodstock ES; 2014, Canton ES STEM Academy; 2013, Free Home ES; 2012, Liberty ES; 2011, Oak Grove ES.

Back to School News      Print News Article