Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Coach of the Year

Congratulations to CCSD's 2024 Coach of the Year!

CCSD 2024 Coach of the Year Phil Thomas

Congratulations to Cherokee County School District 2024 Coach of the Year ... Phil Thomas, head coach of River Ridge High School's state champion boys soccer team!  Thank you to sponsors Shottenkirk Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Canton and BSN.

CCSD 2024 Coach of the Year Phil Thomas
CCSD 2024 Coach of the Year Phil Thomas
CCSD 2024 Coach of the Year Phil Thomas


Coach Thomas received a one-year free lease on the vehicle of his choice from Shottenkirk Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Canton as well as a $6,000 BSN credit for sportswear and equipment. 

The awards program begins with the selection of a top coach for each CCSD Innovation Zone (high school and feeder schools), and those coaches then are considered for the CCSD honor.  The judges select the CCSD winner based on outstanding leadership, tradition of excellence and contributions to overall school culture and community.

Earlier this spring, each Coach of the Year finalist received a banner and a $1,000 BSN merchandise credit.  The winners are:

  • Cherokee High School:  Maddie Benton, Competition Cheer
  • Creekview High School:  Ross Cravens, Wrestling
  • Etowah High School:  Michael Cintineo, Boys Lacrosse
  • River Ridge High School:  Phil Thomas, Boys Soccer
  • Sequoyah High School:  James Teter, Football
  • Woodstock High School:  Mason Wren, Boys Lacrosse


CCSD 2023 Coach of the Year

CCSD 2022 Coach of the Year

CCSD 2021 Coach of the Year