Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD 2021 Coach of the Year

Matt Cates Named CCSD 2021 Coach of the Year


coach of the year

CCSD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Hightower congratulates Matt Cates on being selected Coach of the Year for the District.

Cherokee County School District recognized its inaugural Coach of the Year this week by surprising the winner, Matt Cates of Cherokee HS, with a plaque and gifts from sponsors. Coach Cates was chosen by a panel of outside judges who selected the Lady Warriors basketball coach for his leadership of a strong winning program that has seen annual trips to the state playoffs for many years, along with multiple Region Championship titles.  Judges were particularly impressed by his community involvement and leadership, as well as dedication to his school.

cates award

from left, Chief Operations Office Dr. Debra Murdock, Cherokee HS Principal Rodney Larrotta, daughters Taylor Cates and Courtney Cates, CCSD Coach of the Year Matt Cates, wife Kate Cates, CHS Athletic Director Jeremy Adams, and Dr. Brian V. Hightower, Superintendent of Schools

Coach Cates was surprised at the school by his wife and daughters, along with Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Hightower, Chief Operations Officer Dr. Debra Murdock, Supervisor of Student Athletics and Activities Tonya Sebring, Cherokee HS Principal Rodney Larrotta and CHS Athletic Director Jeremy Adams.  Coach Cates was also congratulated by David Booth, general manager of Shottenkirk Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, who announced the dealership would give Cates a one-year free lease on the vehicle of his choice; Robbie Macy of BSN Sports presented Cates with a $1,000 BSN credit on sportswear and equipment.

Dr. Hightower noted it was a very competitive field for the first Coach of the Year award, and he commended all the finalists on both their strong programs and commitment to school and community.

“We know our coaches go the extra mile for their student athletes, and their hard work shines through the many titles and championships our teams have brought home, as well as college scholarships for students ,” said Dr. Hightower. “Congratulations to Matt Cates for this well-earned recognition of his leadership and dedication to team, school and community.”

The zone finalists for Coach of the Year, each of whom received a $500 BSN credit, are:

cvhs coach

Creekview HS: Matthew Renney, Boys Lacrosse


etowah coach

Etowah HS: Garret Hurlburt, Track and Cross Country


rrhs coach

River Ridge HS: Michael Collins, Football


sequoyah coach

Sequoyah HS: John Edwards, Volleyball


woodstock coach

Woodstock HS:  Regina Tate-Leslie, Girls Basketball