Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD 2022 Coach of the Year

Coach Brown Celebrated as CCSD Coach of the Year


Superintendent Dr. Brian Hightower congratulates Coach Jeff Brown, who is holding his son Camden, age 3.

Superintendent Dr. Brian Hightower congratulates Coach Jeff Brown, who is holding his son Camden, age 3.

Cherokee County School District recognized Woodstock High School’s Jeff Brown as its 2022 Coach of the Year on Friday by surprising him at school with a plaque and gifts from sponsors. Coach Brown was chosen by a panel of outside judges who selected the Wolverines Baseball Coach for his outstanding leadership, tradition of excellence, and contributions to overall school culture and community.



coach with car


coach brown w family


Coach Brown was surprised at the school by his wife and two young sons, along with Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Hightower, Chief Operations Officer Dr. Debra Murdock, Supervisor of Student Athletics and Activities Tonya Sebring, WHS Principal Mark Smith and WHS Athletic Director Julie Crowe, along with several members of the state playoff-bound baseball team.  His father joined the celebration via Facetime so he could see his son’s reaction.  Coach Brown was also congratulated by David Booth, general manager of Shottenkirk Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, who announced the dealership would give Brown a one-year free lease on the vehicle of his choice; Robbie Macy of BSN Sports gifted Brown with a $1,500 BSN credit on sportswear and equipment.

“We know our coaches go the extra mile for their student athletes, and their hard work shines through the many titles and championships our teams have brought home, as well as college scholarships for students,” said Dr. Hightower. “Congratulations to Coach Brown for this well-earned recognition of his leadership and dedication to team, school and community.”

The zone finalists for Coach of the Year, each of whom received a $500 BSN credit, are:

  • Cherokee HS- late volleyball coach Jamison Horton, his wife Jennifer accepted the award in his honor
  • Creekview- Cassie Koes, Competition Cheer
  • Etowah HS- Greg Robinson, Baseball
  • River Ridge- Andrew Marinelli, Softball
  • Sequoyah- Chris Yarbrough, Girls Basketball




Andrew Marinelli, RRHS




Greg Robinson, EHS




Chris Yarbrough, SHS




Jennifer Horton, accepting for her late husband Jamie Horton, CHS




Cassie Koes, CVHS