Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Class of 2012 Valedictorians and Salutatorians

CCSD Honors Class of 2012 Valedictorians, Salutatorians

CCSD Scholar Recognition Banquet 2012
From left to right, front row: Creekview HS Valedictorian Alexandra Webb; Woodstock HS Valedictorian Tracie Dinh; Cherokee HS Salutatorian Madeline Landman; Sequoyah HS Valedictorian Abigail Riddle; and Sequoyah HS Salutatorian Kristin White; and back row: Creekview HS Salutatorian Cody Blackwell; Etowah HS Salutatorian Andrew Hughes; Woodstock HS Salutatorian Krishan Patel; Cherokee HS Valedictorian Elisabeth Bradley; and Etowah HS Valedictorian Megan Emery.

The Cherokee County School District and School Board honored the Class of 2012 Valedictorians and Salutatorians during the 12th Annual Scholar Recognition Banquet on Thursday, May 24, 2012 at Woodmont Golf & Country Club. The banquet featured speeches by the honorees and their favorite teachers, the presentation of gifts and a buffet dinner.

The students and teachers were congratulated by the School Board, and each student received an iPad, $50 gift card, plaque and handcrafted commemorative mug. Each teacher received a plaque and $100 grant for classroom supplies. The gifts were made possible by donations from event sponsors.

The honorees and their favorite teachers are:
Cherokee High School
Valedictorian: Elisabeth Bradley; Teacher: Rebecca Coury
Salutatorian: Madeline Landman; Teacher: Heather Smith

Creekview High School
Valedictorian: Alexandra Webb; Teacher: Cleve Ard
Salutatorian: Cody Blackwell; Teacher: Todd Sharrock

Etowah High School
Valedictorian: Megan Emery; Teacher: Kevin Wall
Salutatorian: Andrew Hughes; Teacher: John Murnan

Sequoyah High School
Valedictorian: Abigail Riddle; Teacher: Andy Kohler
Salutatorian: Kristin White; Teacher: Marla Hooper

Woodstock High School
Valedictorian: Tracie Dinh; Teacher: Sonja Green
Salutatorian: Krishan Patel; Teacher: Krista Webb

Dr. Brian Hightower, Assistant Superintendent for School Operations, and Barbara Jacoby, Director of Public Information, Communications and Partnerships, presided, with greetings by School Board Chairman Mike Chapman and an invocation by Trey Olson, Assistant Superintendent for Personnel Management. The iPads were presented by Bobby Blount, Assistant Superintendent of Accountability, Technology and Strategic Planning.

Event sponsors are: Platinum: AngelTrax Bus Video, Manley Spangler Smith Architects, Northside Hospital-Cherokee, Poole’s Insulation Co. and Woodmont Golf and Country Club; Gold: Brown & Brown Insurance of Georgia, The Travel Store, Inc. and Traditions Turf Management Inc.; and Silver: Cherokee Bank, Coweta-Fayette EMC Natural Gas, Etowah Computer Sales, Inc., EyeMed Vision Care, Hartford Life, Hill Tire Company, Mauldin Body Shop Inc., Prestige Sales Company, Valic Financial Advisors and Windstream.