Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

2012-13 STAR Students and Teachers

2012-13 STAR Students and Teachers

STAR Students Teachers 2013

Cherokee County STAR Student Victoria Cochran from Creekview High School and teacher Michael Sinco and Cherokee County STAR Student Duncan Morgan from Etowah High School and teacher Dr. Michelle Barthlow.

The Canton and Woodstock Lions Clubs recently honored Cherokee County School District students and teachers at their annual STAR Student and STAR Teacher Recognition Ceremony.

The STAR Student honor is awarded to the student from each Cherokee County public and private high school with the highest SAT score, and the student in the county with the highest overall score is named the Cherokee County STAR (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) Student.  Each honored student is invited to select his or her favorite teacher to be named the school’s STAR Teacher.  The Cherokee County STAR Student and Teacher then are eligible to compete at the Regional level in the statewide program coordinated by the Professional Association of Georgia
Educators (PAGE) Foundation.

Victoria Cochran from Creekview High School and Duncan Morgan from Etowah High School tied for the overall Cherokee County STAR Student honor.  Their STAR Teachers are Michael Sinco of Creekview High and Dr. Michelle Barthlow of Etowah High.

The other CCSD school winners are:
Cherokee High School: STAR Student Ashley Tofil and her STAR teacher Jay Huller;
Creekview High School: STAR Student Riley Jenkins and STAR Teacher Michael Sinco;
River Ridge High School: STAR Student Emma O’Bryant and STAR teacher Deborah McFerran;
Sequoyah High School: STAR Student Connor Reeder and David Kemp and STAR Teachers Allison Webb and Andy Kohler; and,
Woodstock High School: Elena Ruiz and her STAR teacher Jennifer Forsyth .