Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

2014 Superintendent’s Key Scholars

CCSD Recognizes 121 Students as 2014 Superintendent’s Key Scholars

The Cherokee County School District annually recognizes outstanding high school juniors as Superintendent’s Key Scholars, and 121 students earned his honor for the 2013-14 School Year.

Each of these outstanding students has scored at the 90th percentile or above on the Grade 11 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

During the Ninth Annual Superintendent’s Key Scholar Recognition Ceremony held on Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2014 at Cherokee High School, they received a School District Certificate of Achievement and a letter jacket patch that reads “Superintendent’s Key Scholar.” Each student will also be honored at their school’s year-end awards ceremony as a Superintendent’s Key Scholar.

“As academic leaders, these outstanding students have the potential to continue distinguishing themselves as high school seniors and in their college pursuits and chosen careers,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Frank Petruzielo said. “We also extend our congratulations to all of the individuals who stand behind and support these students’ efforts, including parents, grandparents, teachers, school administrators and all others who have made and continue to make an impact on their education and their lives.”

The Key Scholar Program is a districtwide academic recognition plan that begins in elementary schools with students qualifying for the nationally recognized Duke University Talent Identification Program (or TIP).

Over the last nine years, more than 1,400 Cherokee County School District students in Grades 4 or 5 qualified for the Duke TIP program by achieving exceptional scores on either the Cognitive Abilities Test or the Iowa Tests of Basic Skills.

Each student receiving this recognition received a Certificate of Achievement at his/her school’s year-end awards ceremony; and the Cherokee County School District has received special recognition from Duke University for having the largest number of students identified in the State of Georgia.

At the middle school level, the Key Scholars Program also includes Duke’s TIP, through which eligible students have the opportunity to get a head start on SAT and ACT testing… which usually does not begin until high school. Seventh-grade students participate in this nationally standardized testing, with many receiving State Recognition; and they are also recognized at a School Board meeting and at a special Duke University ceremony in Atlanta.

For high school students, the Key Scholar Program focuses on the Preliminary SAT (or PSAT). Freshmen scoring at the 80th percentile or above on the PSAT receive a Certificate of Achievement at their school’s year-end awards ceremonies. Sophomores scoring at the 85th percentile or above on the PSAT receive a Certificate of Achievement at their school’s year-end awards ceremonies.

The top award in the Key Scholar Program goes to seniors who qualify as National Merit Scholars. Over the past eight years, these academically outstanding students have led their classes as they marched across the stage at graduation wearing a special gold medallion.

The recognition ceremony on Tuesday evening also featured a performance by Cherokee HS choral students directed by Brad Ellis, the presentation of colors by the Cherokee HS Air Force Junior ROTC and remarks by School Board Vice Chair Robert Wofford.

Please see the lists below for the names of recipients from each high school:

Cherokee High School
Morgan Allgaier
Spencer Ashley
Maura Currie
Austin Floyd
Samuel Harp
Sydney Holloway
Kathryn Huller
Benjamin Johnson
Kennedy Kirtland
Emily Lembcke
Micah Long
Cirstyn Michel
Ebony Scott
Kellie Tracy

Creekview High School
David Brooks
Jacob Cochran
Jacob Homiller
Kevin Langston
Caroline Lemons
John McPherson
Bruce Moshier
Maria Motika
Nathan Olivares
Natalie Perkins
Casandra Philipp
Liam Ritchie
Edward Sweatt
Andrew Teal
Joshua Whitley

Etowah High School
Katherine Aikala
Martha Anderson
Nicholas Angalet
Ansley Baker
Zachary Basel
Ryan Bernal
Marianne Bounds
Sarah Carter
Kendall Cavanaugh
Tyler Dozier
Jake Fijux
Alexandra Franke
Rachel Hall
Jonathan Hendrix
Alyssa Johnson
Samuel Jones
Abigail Knisel
Matthew Lipscomb
Joseph Litrel
Lily Masters
Brian Matthews
Michael Payne
Mason Pirkl
Gianna Samms
Shelby Saunders
Caroline Taylor
Kevin Tillery
Amanda Whitlock
Craig Wineman
Aidan Workman

River Ridge High School
Philip Aalfs
Shannon Bell
Caleb Caldwell
Hsin Yi Chen
Mia Conklin
Courtney Couey
James Daniel
Brandon Dollar
Rishab Kaup
Brandon Perez
Abigail Skinner
Christopher Taylor
Alan Tomusiak
Joel Varn
Sri-Krishna Velivela
Brandt Webster
Zachary Wilken
Felicia Williams
Rachel Woods

Sequoyah High School
Stephen Anderson
Robert Carter
Hannah Coltrain
Chandler Dean
Cassidy Downs
James Ergle
Samuel Fullerton
Elisabeth Joy
Kiedrich Kromp
Langston Leake
Joseph Luxemburger
David Miller
Elise Mogelgaard
Ansley Petherick
Brittany Robertson
Camden Rogers
Payne Skersick
Kaitlyn Stout
Sarah Thompson
Eric Van Aken
Lydia Wood

Woodstock High School
Madeeha Ahmad
Jordan Atkins
Jordan Barham
Jacob Beckham
Leon Castillo
Sally Hannoush
Alarii Levreault-Lopez
Samuel McCulloch
Alexandra Melehan
Brooklynn Milone
Adrea Mueller
Brian Murphy
Georgia Olejnik
Parth Patel
Caroline Peck
William Penniman
Hallie Poindexter
William Ragsdale
Bradley Reardon
Megan Rosinko
Collin Taylor
Emily Zillweger