Open vision bar

School Council


Purpose of the School Council

With O.C.G.A. § 20-2-85/86 (2010), the General Assembly of Georgia created councils to “bring communities and schools closer together in a spirit of cooperation to solve difficult education problems, improve academic achievement, provide support for teachers and administrators, and bring parents into the school-based decision-making process.” School Councils shall provide advice, recommendations, and assistance and represent the community of parents and business. The council is accountable to the constituents they serve and shall:

  • Maintain a school-wide perspective on issues.
  • Participate in council meetings.
  • Participate in information and training programs.
  • Act as a link between the school council and the community.
  • Encourage the participation of parents and others within the school community.
  • Work to improve student achievement.
  • Provide advice and recommendations to the school principal and local board of education.


Council Membership Criteria

  • Members of the School Council will serve for a term of two years.
  • The council will have a minimum of seven members; E.T. Booth’s School Council bylaws stipulate that there will be:
    • Five parents/guardians.
    • One parent/guardian who is also a local businessperson.
    • Three certified teachers who are not employed in administrative positions.
    • The school principal.
    • The PTSA President or one co-president (non-voting role).
  • Parents must make up the majority of the council.
  • A parent member must serve as the chair.


2019-2020 School Council Meetings

*all held at 4:00 p.m. in the Front Office Conference Room


School Council Members

  • Principal, Mr. Todd Sharrock
  • Chair, Susan Honea (2018-2020)
  • Parent/Business Member, Michelle Dodd (2018-2020)
  • Parent, Courtney Dewitt (2019-2021)
  • Parent, Nicole Martin (2019-2021)
  • Parent, Heather Migneco (2018-2020)
  • Parent, Leaha Rice (2019-2021)
  • Teacher, Laura Bilbo (2019-2021)
  • Teacher, Annissa Hackney (2018-2020)
  • Teacher, Madison Hester (2018-2020)
  • PTSA Co-President, Lori Novack (non-voting, 2019-2020)