Open vision bar

Departments - Special Education

Last Updated: 1/18/2019 3:40 PM

Special Education


The Special Education department at Etowah High School includes services and supports that provide a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to eligible students. Targeted areas for services and supports include but are not limited to; accessible instructional materials, assistive technology, positive behavior supports, and transitions. These services focus on enhancing student achievement and post-secondary outcomes through implementation of regional and statewide activities for students and their families. In addition, the department will operate in compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

The Cherokee County School District’s Special Education curriculum is based on the local and state standards, as are core subjects, while using the integration of various teaching strategies. The concepts of these strategies are used to relate to students’ lives and future career choices.

Cassandra Mathious- Special Education Administrator
Wendy McDaniel - Special Education Facilitator
Mary Ellen Phillips - Special Education Department Chair

Special education is tailored to meet the needs of students with disabilities. The services and supports one child receives may be very different from what another child receives. There is no “one size fits all” approach to Special Education.

GaDOE SPED Parent Satisfaction Survey

The Parent Satisfaction Survey helps Georgia to determine parents’ perception of the success of parent engagement between the local school and themselves.  The information is gathered as a component of the State Performance PlanThis year the survey link will open on January 16, 2019 and will remain open until May 31, 2019. You can access the survey link here:http://www.gadoe.org/Curriculum-Instruction-and-Assessment/Special-Education-Services/Pages/Parent-Survey.aspx

 

(IEP)- Individualized Education Plan

Special education students have an (IEP) - Individualized Education Plan. The IEP states the current strengths and weaknesses of the student, and how we as their teachers are going to help that student overcome those weaknesses and achieve growth. Special education services focuses on helping children with disabilities learn. This is accomplished each year with conducting an annual IEP meeting. Every child with an IEP has a case holder assigned to them.

(LRE)- Least Restrictive Environment

By law, schools are required to provide special education in the least restrictive environment (LRE). This means the starting point for discussion should be the supports your child needs to succeed in a general education classroom.

Special Education Report Cards

Every 9 weeks, when academic report cards are issued, so are special education report cards. They inform the parents/guardians how their child has done that quarter on their individualized goals/objectives that are stated in their (IEP) Individualized Education Plan.

Who do I contact if I have a question or concern about my child’s IEP services?

Your first point of contact should be their IEP case holder. Please see the list below:

Special Education Department / IEP Case holders:

Ervina Armstrong | Ervina.armstrong@cherokeek12.net

Brenda Beebe | Brenda.beebe@cherokeek12.net

Kandra Bethke | Kandra.Bethke@cherokeek12.net

John Curry | John.Curry@cherokeek12.net

Robert Holman | Robert.holman@cherokeek12.net

Shawn-tel Lay | Shawn-tel.lay@cherokeek12.net

Jennifer Leopard | Jennifer.leopard@cherokeek12.net

Robyn Mattson | Robyn.mattson@cherokeek12.net

Keith Minnifield | Keith.Minnifield@cherokeek12.net

Kristen Morris | Kristen.morris@cherokeek12.net

Charlie Parker | Charlie.parker@cherokeek12.net

Mary Ellen Phillips | MaryEllen.phillips@cherokeek12.net

Lora Powell | Lora.Powell@cherokeek12.net

Cole Ross | Cole.Ross@cherokeek12.net

Debbie Rufa | Debbie.rufa@cherokeek12.net

Kate Salvino | Kate.salvino@cherokeek12.net

Jessica Slone | Jessie.slone@cherokeek12.net

Sam Thompson | Sam.thompson@cherokeek12.net

Who do I contact if I have a question/concern about my one or more of my child’s particular classes?

Please contact the individual teacher(s) of the course(s) that your child is struggling in. Contact them via email, google voice # or school number and extension.

What do I do if I want to meet with some of my child’s teacher(s)?

If needed you can request a parent conference through the counseling office through your child’s guidance counselor.