Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Celebrates Yes I Can Award Winners

CCSD Celebrates Yes I Can Award Winners

The Cherokee County School District is celebrating its 2023 Yes I Can Award winners!

The Yes I Can Awards celebrate the achievements of children and youth with exceptionalities.  The awards encourage students to seek their highest potential, and increase public awareness of the abilities, aspirations, and personal qualities of those with disabilities.  

Each CCSD elementary school is invited to select one student to receive the Yes I Can Award based achievement during the year in one or more of the following categories: academics, the arts, school and community, self-advocacy and technology.     

This year’s honorees are: Arnold Mill ES, Michael Wash; Avery ES, Jaiden Dean; Ball Ground ES STEM Academy, Eden Sherman; Bascomb ES, Ivan Mazariegos-Mancilla; Boston ES, Aaron Hernandez; Carmel ES, AJ Addison; Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Cayson Matthews; Clayton ES, Kylee Bell; Free Home ES, Gage Hull; Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy, Jocelyn Juarez Gutierrez; Hickory Flat ES, Mattie-Rae Bentley; Holly Springs ES STEM Academy, Zayden Harbor-Ellis; Indian Knoll ES, Joshua Bennevendo; Johnston ES, Samuel Flores Segura; Knox ES STEM Academy, Brooklyn Gardner; Liberty ES, Ivan Ou; Little River ES, Liam Hopkins; Macedonia ES, Jameson Holloway; Mountain Road ES, Vincent Giardino; Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy, Haven Holder; R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy, Elena Sosa Carmona; Sixes ES, David Avellaneda; Woodstock ES, Matthew Pickering.

The Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower will celebrate the honorees at this month’s School Board meeting.  

“We’re so proud of these students for rising up to do their best and can’t wait to see all they accomplish next school year,” Dr. Hightower said.  “We celebrate their hard work and are grateful for the dedication of the teachers and staff who support their learning and growth.  ‘Yes I Can’ is a powerful mindset, and these awards remind us of the importance of working together to ensure every student succeeds.”