Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Eight CCSD Seniors Named 2024 Georgia Scholars

Eight CCSD Seniors Named 2024 Georgia Scholars

Eight Cherokee County School District high school seniors have been selected for the prestigious Georgia Scholar recognition! 

The Georgia Department of Education program honors high school seniors who exhibit excellence in their school and community life.  Honorees demonstrate dedication to academic success, participation in interscholastic events and leadership through extra-curricular activities.  

Only 177 seniors statewide earned the honor for the Class of 2024.  The Georgia Scholars from CCSD are: of Creekview HS, Carter Canfield, Tatum Carmichael, Elsa Johnson and Kinley Sikes; of Etowah HS, Cristina Garcia, Connor Lawlor and Bella Postel; and of Sequoyah HS, Will Murphy. 

Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for their diploma.  Learn more about the program at Georgia Scholar Program (

“These 177 Georgia students have made our state proud through their stellar efforts in the classroom and in their communities,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “The Georgia Scholar designation is a recognition of their leadership and diligence. I wish them great success as they continue into their futures, and know they will continue to contribute to their communities and to our state.”

The Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools Mary Elizabeth Davis will recognize these students at an upcoming school board meeting.

#CCSDfam #2024CCSDgrads