Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Three CCSD Schools Honored by National PTA

Three CCSD Schools Honored by National PTA

Three Cherokee County School District schools have been honored by the National PTA for excellence!

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy, Free Home Elementary School and Mill Creek Middle School this month were named winners of the National PTA School of Excellence award.   The two-year title recognizes successful partnerships between local PTAs and schools to make schools more welcoming to all families and to offer more opportunities for families to support students.

They are among only 302 schools nationwide and only 29 schools from Georgia honored with this recognition.  To be considered for this honor, a school and its PTA unit must commit to working together to set and meet year-long goals for improving family engagement.

“Congratulations to Clark Creek, Free Home and Mill Creek – this award is the highest honor for school and parent collaboration, and we’re proud of your work together that earned this recognition,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Parent engagement is critical to student success, and the PTA provides incredible support to our schools, teachers and staff through its members’ volunteerism, fundraising and advocacy.  We are stronger and better together because of all you do – thank you!”

The designations were earned through efforts over the past year by the PTA and school leadership.  For Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, which is led by Principal Joey Moss, last school year’s PTA co-presidents Nicole Burroughs and Mandi Fishback both are serving again this school year.  For Free Home ES, which is led by Principal Julie Peppers, last school year’s PTA co-presidents were Katie Ahearn and Kristin Hornsby, and Ms. Hornsby is continuing as president this school year.  For Mill Creek MS, which is led by Principal Matthew May, last school year’s PTA co-presidents were Mandy Gispert and Scott Steinbrenner, and Mr. Steinbrenner is continuing this school year with co-president Will Egwu.  

“There could not be a more urgent time to make sure schools and PTAs are reaching and engaging all families in ways that have a positive impact on all students’ success,” said Nathan R. Monell, National PTA executive director.  “Our National PTA School of Excellence designees have demonstrated what over 40 years of research has also proved — amazing things can be achieved when schools and families work together in effective ways to accomplish a common goal.”

Last year, Boston Elementary School and Little River Elementary School were named winners and are in their second school year of recognition.

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Free Home ES and Mill Creek MS each will receive a banner to display celebrating this national recognition.  The Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower will recognize this honor at an upcoming School Board meeting.