Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Science

The Cherokee County Secondary Science curriculum reflects national science goals, the Georgia Department of Education’s Performance Standards and Cherokee County Student Performance Standards. The study of science in Cherokee County is approached from the fundamental view that science is a dynamic discipline. Technology, laboratory experiences, current science issues and real life problem-solving are an integral component of the science program.

For graduation, students shall earn at least four (4) units of credit in laboratory based science courses consisting of one unit of a physical science or physics, one unit of biology, one unit of either chemistry, earth science, environmental science or an AP course and one additional science unit. The fourth science unit may be used to meet both the science and elective requirements.


Courses Offered:

Biology I

Physical Science

Environment Science

Physics I

Chemistry I

Zoology

Human Anatomy / Physiology

Forensic Science

Earth Systems

Astronomy

Science Instructors:

Akins, Chris SCI/Art chris.akins@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Bellini, Heather SCI heather.bellini@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Beyer, Tracey SCI tracey.beyer@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Bisgrove, Mary SCI mary.bisgrove@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Freeman, Katie SCI katie.freeman@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Lathem, Gloria SCI gloria.lathem@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Manwaring, Elisa SCI elisa.manwaring@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Money, Phillip SCI phillip.money@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Mora, Juan SCI juan.mora@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Piper, Jamison SCI jamison.piper@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Dugan, Tara SCI tara.dugan@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Sawicki, Henley SCI henley.sawicki@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Schumaker, Gregg SCI gregg.schumaker@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Wilt, Jenna SCI jenna.wilt@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Woszczynski, John SCI john.woszczynski@cherokee.k12.ga.us