Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Special Education

The Special Education department includes services and supports that provide a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to eligible students. Targeted areas for services and supports include but are not limited to; accessible instructional materials, assistive technology, positive behavior supports, and transitions. These services focus on enhancing student achievement and post-secondary outcomes through implementation of regional and statewide activities for students and their families. In addition, the department will operate in compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

The Cherokee County School District’s Special Education curriculum is based on the local and state standards, as are core subjects, while using the integration of various teaching strategies. The concepts of these strategies are used to relate to students’ lives and future career choices.

Special Education Instructors:

Brunet, Joey Resource joey.brunet@cherokeek12.net
Davenport, Tiffany PARA tiffany.davenport@cherokeek12.net
Densmore, Jane Resource jane.densmore@cherokeek12.net
DeRidder, Casey SPED casey.deridder@cherokeek12.net
Galloy, Carol Resource carol.galloy@cherokeek12.net
Galya, Caitlin SPED caitlin.galya@cherokeek12.net
Hall, Amber Resource amber.hall@cherokeek12.net
Williams, Theodus PARA theodus.williams@cherokeek12.net
Manus, Kim Resource kim.manus@cherokeek12.net
Marinelli, Andrew Resource andrew.marinelli@cherokeek12.net
Mullinax, Joseph Resource joseph.mullinax@cherokeek12.net
Nayman, Kendra Resource kendra.nayman@cherokeek12.net
Patterson, Jennifer Resource jennifer.patterson@cherokeek12.net
Ross, Kim PARA kim.ross@cherokeek12.net
Runion, Jeff APEX jeff.runion@cherokeek12.net
Schultz, Andy Resource andy.schultz@cherokeek12.net
Walker, Patrick EBD patrick.walker@cherokeek12.net
Carter, Kristy PARA kristy.carter@cherokeek12.net
Woodburn, Derek SPED derek.woodburn@cherokeek12.net