Open vision bar

Special Education

Last Updated: 7/28/2020 5:25 PM

The Special Education department includes services and supports that provide a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to eligible students. Targeted areas for services and supports include but are not limited to; accessible instructional materials, assistive technology, positive behavior supports, and transitions. These services focus on enhancing student achievement and post-secondary outcomes through implementation of regional and statewide activities for students and their families. In addition, the department will operate in compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

The Cherokee County School District’s Special Education curriculum is based on the local and state standards, as are core subjects, while using the integration of various teaching strategies. The concepts of these strategies are used to relate to students’ lives and future career choices.

Special Education Instructors:

Alexander, Hunter Resource  
Andrews, Lauren Resource  
Darling, Aaron Resource  
Davenport, Tiffany PARA  
Densmore, Jane Resource  
Flaherty, Karri Para  
Hewgley, Veronica Resource  
Galya, Caitlin SPED  
Hickman, Troy PARA  
McDonald, Cassie PARA  
McFeeley, Lindsey Speech Language Pathologist  
Schultz, Jennifer Resource  
Marinelli, Andrew Resource  
Mullinax, Joseph CTI  
Nayman, Kendra Resource  
Patterson, Jennifer Resource  
Poston, Rebekkah School Psychologist  
Petrovich, Carol PARA  
Schmidt, Casey SPED  
Schultz, Andy Resource  
Smith, Brandon Resource  
Tedder, Emily Resource  
Walker, Patrick EBD  
Carter, Kristy PARA  
Woodburn, Derek SPED  
Youngblood, Adam Resource