Open vision bar

School Council

Last Updated: 4/16/2020 2:50 PM


Mission Statement

The General Assembly of Georgia and the Cherokee County Board of Education believes that parent and community support is critical to the success of students and the school. The purpose of the School Council is to bring communities and schools closer together in a spirit of cooperation to solve difficult educational problems, improve academic achievement, provide support for teachers and administrators, and bring parents into the school-based decision-making process.

2019-20 Meeting Dates

Meeting location – Conference Room
Meeting dates
1st meeting Sept 11th
2nd meeting Oct 9th
3rd meeting Nov 13th
4th meeting Feb 12th
5th meeting Cancelled (due to COVID-19)
6th meeting Cancelled (due to COVID-19)

School Council elections will take place in the fall at the annual PTSA Open House.

Archived Meeting Minutes



The management and control of the Cherokee County Public Schools shall be the responsibility of the Cherokee County Board of Education, under the Principal, who is under the Superintendent of Schools. School Council’s are advisory bodies and shall provide advice, recommendations, and assistance and represent the community of parents and businesses.

2019-20 Members

Robert Van Alstyne

Monica Orrico

Debby Matulevicus

Sue Whitfield

Robert Tedesco

Julie Smith

Deanda Davis


A School Council must consist of a minimum of seven members; the Principal, two teachers elected by the faculty, and four parents, two of which must be business men/women, that are elected by parents. The parents and teachers each serve staggered two-year terms so that one teacher and two parents are elected each year. Elections are held on Curriculum Night following the classroom visitation schedule. Sequoyah High School’s School Council also consists of a business representative whose children have graduated from Sequoyah High School.