Open vision bar

Special Education

Last Updated: 7/31/2020 1:52 AM

Special Education - Jenae Rose Department Chair)

Ambles, Stacy Martin, Ben
Blake, Laura Moore, Amber
Cross, Clayton Nevis, Michelle
Cruttenden, Shannon Rose, Jenae
Davila, Mike Salvino, Kate
Ecke, Walter Sheehan, Tom
Harkins, Bridget Smerker, Josh
Heil, Amy Smith, Liz
Johnson, Tracy Soncrant, Allison
Laneaux, Trevlyn Tenney, Daniel
Logan, Peter Wren, Mason


The Special Education department at Woodstock High School includes services and supports that provide a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to eligible students. Targeted areas for services and supports include but are not limited to; accessible instructional materials, assistive technology, positive behavior supports, and transitions. These services focus on enhancing student achievement and post-secondary outcomes through implementation of regional and statewide activities for students and their families. In addition, the department will operate in compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

The Cherokee County School District’s Special Education curriculum is based on the local and state standards, as are core subjects, while using the integration of various teaching strategies. The concepts of these strategies are used to relate to students’ lives and future career choices.